Past award recipients

OII Insurance Educator of the Year Award Recipients

Since 1983, OII has honored an outstanding educator who, through their creativity and innovative styles, does an excellent job of teaching teenagers about insurance. Educators are nominated for this award by their peers, principals, administrators, students, insurance industry contacts or themselves. Winners receive a cash award ($1,000) and their school receives funds, too ($500).

Below are Ohio educators (since 2000) who have been named OII’s Insurance Educator of the Year. We thank and congratulate each winner.

Nominate an educator for the 2020 Educator of the Year award beginning in Fall 2019 by using our online nomination form.


Year Educator School City
2018 Rachel Rohrs Lincolnview High School Van Wert, OH
Aurora High School Aurora, OH
Olentangy Liberty High School Powell, OH
Lebanon High School Lebanon, OH
2014 JENNIFER JORDAN Madeira High School Cincinnati, OH
2013 LEWIE HINDMAN Dover High School Dover, OH
2012 BRIAN PAGE Reading High School Reading, OH
2011 CRAIG SCHUFFENECKER Put-in-Bay High School Put-in-Bay, OH
2010 JEFF MONTENARO St. Francis DeSales High School Columbus, OH
2009 BETH LANCE Wadsworth High School Wadsworth, OH
2009 RHONDA RAK North Ridgeville High School North Ridgeville, OH
2008 KAREN NORTON Midview High School Grafton, OH
2007 ROBERT HLASKO Cory-Rawson High School Rawson, OH
2007 JANIE SHERAW Pickerington High School Central Pickerington, OH
2006 RAY TINDIRA Cleveland Heights High School Cleveland Heights, OH
2005 JANE GICALE Greene County Career Center Xenia, OH
2004 BRIAN BACHTEL Mentor Shore Jr. High School Mentor, OH
2003 GREGG MARINO Walter E. Stebbins High School Riverside, OH
2002 PHIL BOVA Buckeye High School Medina, OH
2002 DEBBIE GENTENE William Mason High School Mason, OH
2001 CHARLES KOMARANSKY Brookside High School Sheffield, OH
2000 DIANA PEARCE BILBREY Clyde High School Clyde, OH